Creating a FirstClass Workspace

1.  Open First Class, log in to your account.

2.  Click on the "Workspaces" icon:  102512_82706_0.png

3.  Choose "Standard Workspace" from the list and click OK.

    Workspaces contain the following items:

        A conference for discussions
        A group calendar
        A contact database
        A documents container to store permanent records
        A file storage container to store files of various media types
Screen shot 2012-10-25 at 8.30.21 AM.png
4.  To name your workspace, right click (control click) and go to "Get Info" . Create a workspace for each of your classes.  Screen shot 2012-10-25 at 8.32.08 AM.png

5.  You will need to add the students from your class to the workspace and give them permission to use the workspace. To add students to the workspace, right click (control click) on the icon for the group and choose subscribers from the list.

6.  Click on the "Add Subscriber" button. In the "Search" box type in the student's name until it appears in the list below. Choose the student name and click the "Add" button.   


When you close the "Add Subscriber" each student will have this workspace on their desktop.  Anything in this space can be seen by all the subscribed students.  They can drag files into this space and they can create messages and documetnts in this space  ...unless you wish to restrict all or parts of it.....  See Below


If you would like to restrict the use of the workspace
1.  After you have added all of the students, you will need to set permissions. Right click on the workspace and choose "Permissions" from the list.

2.  Under "Who", type in each student's name for the class. This list should match the subscribers you added previously. Make sure to add your name if it doesn't already appear in the list.
Screen shot 2012-10-25 at 8.37.38 AM.png
3.  Under the "Access" column, give yourself permissions associated with "Creator" and each student permissions associated with "Contributor".

        Controller - This gives you all rights.
        Contributor - This allows the person to post information to the conference.
        Disallowed - Prevents the individual in the class from participating.
        Reader - Allows only viewing priviledges to the participant.

You can add custom permissions to students if needed. Any permission that is grey is not active. You activate permissions by clicking on the icon, remove permissions by clicking on it again.